School Term Dates and Holidays

Please note: Dates for school holidays are inclusive, so for example, 05 July-19 August means students return on 20 August.

Download school calendar (PDF)

School calendar: 2019-2020

Autumn
In-service closures: Monday 19 August 2019, Monday 16 September and Tuesday 17 September 2019
Term starts: Tuesday 20 August 2019
Term ends: Friday 11 October 2019
Autumn holidays: Monday 14 October 2019 - Friday 25 October 2019

Winter
Term starts: Monday 28 October 2019
In service closure: Monday 11 November and Tuesday 12 November 2019
Term ends: Friday 20 December 2019
Christmas holidays: Monday 23 December 2019 - Friday 3rd January 2020

Spring
Term starts: Monday 6 January 2020
Mid term holiday: Friday 7 and Monday 10 February 2020
Term ends: Friday 27 March 2020
Spring holiday: Monday 30 March 2020 - Friday 10 April 2020 (Good Friday)

Summer
Term starts: Monday 13 April 2020
May Day holiday: Monday 4 May 2020
In-service closure: Thursday 14 May and Friday 15 May 2020
Term ends: Thursday 2 July 2020

Plus, one occasional day holiday when the following school groups will be closed:

  • Buckie High School ASG - Monday 8 June 2020
  • Elgin Academy ASG - Thursday 6 February 2020
  • Elgin High School ASG - Thursday 6 February 2020
  • Forres Academy ASG - Thursday 6 February 2020
  • Keith Grammar School ASG - Monday 1 June 2020
  • Lossie High School ASG - Tuesday 5 May 2020
  • Milne's High School ASG - Thursday 6 February 2020
  • Speyside High School ASG - Monday 1 June 2020

School calendar: 2020-2021

Autumn
In-service closure: Monday 17 August 2020
Term starts: Tuesday 18 August 2020
Term ends: Friday 9 October 2020
Autumn holidays: Monday 12 October 2020 - Friday 23 October 2020

Winter
Term starts: Monday 26 October 2020
In service closure: Monday 16 November and Tuesday 17 November 2020
Term ends: Friday 18 December 2020
Christmas holidays: Monday 21 December 2020 - Monday 4th January 2021

Spring
Term starts: Tuesday 5 January 2021
Mid term holiday: Friday 5 and Monday 8 February 2021
Term ends: Friday 26 March 2021
Spring holiday: Monday 29 March 2021 - Friday 9 April 2021 

Summer
Term starts: Monday 12 April 2021
May Day holiday: Monday 3 May 2021
In-service closure: Thursday 13 May and Friday 14 May 2021
Term ends: Friday 2 July 2021

Plus one occasional day holiday to be agreed by 30 March 2020.

Contact Us

Education and Social Care
Council Office
High Street
Elgin
IV30 1BX

01343 563374

educationandsocialcare@moray.gov.uk

Rate this Page