European Parliamentary Election 2019

About this election

An order was laid in the Parliament on Monday 8 April 2019 to set the date for the European Parliament Election. This came into force on Wednesday 10 April 2019. Polling for this election was held on Thursday 23 May 2019 with votes being counted on Sunday 26 May 2019. 

List of candidates standing

The *list of  independent candidates / parties standing in this election is now available in the Notice of Poll - Statement of Persons standing (PDF, 160kb).

  • Change UK - The Independent Group
  • Conservative and Unionist Party
  • Labour Party
  • Liberal Democrats
  • Scottish Green Party
  • Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • The Brexit Party
  • UK Independence Party (UKIP)
  • EDGAR, Gordon - Independent
  • PARKE, Ken - Independent

*Please note that there are no 'local' Moray candidates for this election. The whole of Scotland votes on the same list of independent candidates / parties, from which 6 MEPs are elected to represent Scotland.

For more information about the candidates/parties please contact the Regional Returning Officer, c/o The Elections Office, City Chambers, High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1YJ. 
Tel. 0131 469 3126 or email

Statutory Notices

Polling Day

Polling took place on Thursday 23 May. 


The Count will conducted  at Elgin Academy on the evening of Sunday 26 May and a local declaration of the result will follow after 10pm. This is due to other European countries voting on other days including Sunday. 

The count is not open to the public, candidates and their appointed agents will be able to attend. 

Please note that there is no 'local' declaration of votes in Moray. Results are collated centrally in Edinburgh by the Regional Returning Officer and a result for Scotland will be announced on Monday 27 May from Edinburgh.


Results will be available from the Regional Returning Officer. Links will be posted here when they are available from Monday 27 May.

For more information contact the Regional Returning Officer, c/o The Elections Office, City Chambers, High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1YJ. 
Tel. 0131 469 3126 or email


Electoral Registration Office
For electoral register enquiries, to register to vote, change or amend your addresses or to apply for a postal or proxy vote. Please note that the Electoral Registration Officer only deals with Electoral Register enquiries, amendments and applications to register to vote, applying for a postal or proxy vote.

Electoral Registration Officer
Grampian Valuation Joint Board
234 High Street, Elgin, IV30 1BA
Tel: 01343 541203
Email:  for elector register queries, postal and proxy vote applications

Monday - Thursday - 9am to 5pm, Friday - 9am to 4pm

Moray Election Office

Returning Officer - Denise Whitworth
For information about: elections, dates and notices, candidate nominations, polling places, issues with postal votes not being received, spoilt or lost, ballot papers and how to vote, results or any other election related query:

Elections Office, Moray Council, Council Office, High Street, Elgin, IV30 1BX

Elections Helpline: 01343 563334
Email: (! please do not use this email address for electoral register queries or application to vote by post or proxy) please see above.


Rate this Page