Moray has 8 Wards, each Ward is represented by 3 or 4 Elected Members. Ward boundaries are determined by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland..

Find your councillor by postcode

If you are unsure of which ward you live in, please use the Ward boundary finder or call 01343 563334.

Elected Members

The Moray Council has an Independent-Conservative Administration. 

The Convener is Councillor Allan Wright (Scottish Conservative & Unionist) and the Leader is Councillor Stewart Cree (Independent)

The number of seats held by each party:

  • Independent - 10
  • Scottish National Party - 11
  • Labour - 2
  • Scottish Conservative and Unionist - 3

There are 26 Elected Members in The Moray Council. They are elected when the public vote at local government elections.


The Convener is the Civic Head of the Council. He is an Elected Member who has been elected by Members of the Council to be Convener of the Council.

Leader of the Council

The Leader of the Council is an Elected Member who has been selected by Members of the Council.

The responsibilities of the Leader of the Council transcend those of individual members of the Council – and the particular service responsibilities of other individual Chairs – and extend to corporate responsibility for the vision, policies, strategies and consequent decisions of the whole Council.

Contact Us

Members Support
Council Offices
High Street
IV30 1BX

01343 563114

Rate this Page