Minute of inaugural Meeting Lennox Community Council

Date: 24 November 2021

Time: 7.00 pm

Venue: Zoom

Chair: Debra Duke Community Council Liaison Officer

Attendees: Roger Austin, Donald Cameron, Jennie Cameron, Pringle George, Leanna Hudson, Alexander Hume, Paul MacPherson

Katherine Griffith, Chris Overing, Mary Ann Overing

Moray Councillors Marc McCrae and Shona Morrison

Apologies:

1. Welcome, Introductions and Apologies

Debra Duke welcomed all to the meeting and congratulated members on being elected as Community Councillors to serve their communities.

2. Community Council Induction

A training/induction presentation was given to all members. This incorporated, Community Councils in Moray, Scheme and Constitutional documents, Community Councillors Handbook, Core Community Council Business, Members and Office Bearers duties, highlighting key areas that Community Councils and its members should be aware of.

All Members have been emailed a copy of the Scheme of Establishment, Model Constitution and the Code of Conduct. Members were advised the Community Council handbook is available online at <u>http://www.moray.gov.uk/moray_standard/page_105319.html</u>, if members require printed copies, costs can be paid from the Community Council administration grant.

3. Contact Sharing Authorisation

Members were asked to complete the Contact Sharing Authorisation form for Data Protection purposes, and return by email, digital signatures acceptable copies of the completed forms will be emailed to the secretary.

Members contact information to be shared with all members

4. Administration Grant and population figures

Members were informed that the annual grant for Lennox is £766.87 for the period April 2021/22.

The grant is calculated at £500 plus 0.0725 pence per head of population, the population for the area is 3681.

The annual grant paid is distributed in two parts, April and October; the second grant payment for the period 2021/22 will be paid in October on receipt of examined annual accounts.

5. Appointment of Office Bearers

Role	Proposer	Seconder
Chairperson PAUL MACPHERSON	Alexander Hume	Pringle George
Vice Chairperson ALEXANDER HUME	Pringle George	Paul MacPherson
Secretary See note below	Alexander Hume	Donald Cameron
Treasurer PRINGLE GEORGE	Alexander Hume	Paul MacPherson
Planning Contact ANNA-MARY OVERING	Paul MacPherson	Pringle George

Secretary responsibilities will be divided. Katherine Griffin will be minutes secretary. Pringle George will assist with other secretarial responsibilities.

6. Constitutional Documents

Members were advised that the Community Council constitution should be signed and mailed to the Deputy Returning Officer as soon as possible at Deputy Returning Officer, Moray Council Headquarters, High Street, Elgin, IV30 1BX.

Members were advised to bring their copy of Constitutional documents to meetings for reference, particularly the Standing Orders.

7. Business from previous meetings

The inaugural meeting was closed and handed over to the new chair to start Community Council business.