Minute of Inaugural Meeting Buckie & District Community Council

Date: 20 October 2021

Time: 7.00 pm

Venue: Zoom

Chair: Tracey Rae, Community Support Officer

Attendees: John Stuart, Stephanie Lindsay, Beverley Wood, Christine Allan, Ross Ingram, Councillor Sonya Warren, Councillor Tim Eagle and Councillor Gordon

Cowie

Apologies: Alison Durno

1. Welcome, Introductions and Apologies

Tracey Rae welcomed all to the meeting and congratulated members on being elected as Community Councillors to serve their communities.

2. Community Council Induction

A training/induction presentation was given to all members. This incorporated, Community Councils in Moray, Scheme and Constitutional documents, Community Councillors Handbook, Core Community Council Business, Members and Office Bearers duties, highlighting key areas that Community Councils and its members should be aware of.

All Members have been emailed a copy of the Scheme of Establishment, Model Constitution and the Code of Conduct. Members were advised the Community Council handbook is available online at http://www.moray.gov.uk/moray_standard/page_105319.html, if members require printed copies, costs can be paid from the Community Council administration grant.

3. Contact Sharing Authorisation

Members were asked to complete the Contact Sharing Authorisation form for Data Protection purposes, and return by email, digital signatures acceptable copies of the completed forms will be emailed to the secretary.

Members contact information to be shared with all members

4. Administration Grant and population figures

Members were informed that the annual grant for Buckie & District is £1194.48 for the period April 2021/2.

The grant is calculated at £500 plus 0.0725 pence per head of population, the population for the area is 9579.

The annual grant paid is distributed in two parts, April and October; the second grant payment for the period 2021/22 will be paid in October on receipt of examined annual accounts.

5. Appointment of Office Bearers

Role	Proposer	Seconder
Chairperson JOHN STUART	Christine Allan	Beverley Wood
Vice Chairperson TBC		
Secretary STEPHANIE LINDSAY	John Stuart	Christine Allan
Treasurer CHRISTINE ALLAN	John Stuart	Beverley Wood
Planning Contact TBC		

6. Constitutional Documents

Member were advised that the Community Council constitution should be signed and mailed to the Deputy Returning Officer as soon as possible at Deputy Returning Officer, Moray Council Headquarters, High Street, Elgin, IV30 1BX.

Members were advised to bring their copy of Constitutional documents to meetings for reference, particularly the Standing Orders.

7. Business from previous meetings

The inaugural meeting was closed and handed over to the new Chair.

The next meeting will be held on **Tuesday 16th November**, meanwhile members will ensure everyone is connected and able to access Teams. Members will also consider representation on outside bodies e.g. SSE and Harbour Advisory Group.

Discussion around continuing meetings online or having face to face – agreed to continue online with regular reviews.