# Minute of inaugural Meeting Portknockie Community Council

Date: 11 October 2021

Time: 7.00 pm

Venue: Zoom

Chair: Debra Duke Community Council Liaison Officer

# Attendees: Cllrs Anne Anderson, Donna Coull, Shirley Firth, John Going, Gladys McKenzie, Lilian Urquhart

#### Moray Councillors Theresa Coull, Donald Gatt, Laura Powell

#### **Apologies:**

#### 1. Welcome, Introductions and Apologies

Debra Duke welcomed all to the meeting and congratulated members on being elected as Community Councillors to serve their communities.

#### 2. Community Council Induction

A training/induction presentation was given to all members. This incorporated, Community Councils in Moray, Scheme and Constitutional documents, Community Councillors Handbook, Core Community Council Business, Members and Office Bearers duties, highlighting key areas that Community Councils and its members should be aware of.

All Members have been emailed a copy of the Scheme of Establishment, Model Constitution and the Code of Conduct. Members were advised the Community Council handbook is available online at <u>http://www.moray.gov.uk/moray\_standard/page\_105319.html</u>, if members require printed copies, costs can be paid from the Community Council administration grant.

#### 3. Contact Sharing Authorisation

Members were asked to complete the Contact Sharing Authorisation form for Data Protection purposes, and return by email, digital signatures acceptable copies of the completed forms will be emailed to the secretary.

Members contact information to be shared with all members

#### 4. Administration Grant and population figures

Members were informed that the annual grant for Portknockie is £594.90 for the period April 2021/22.

The grant is calculated at £500 plus 0.0725 pence per head of population, the population for the area is 1309.

The annual grant paid is distributed in two parts, April and October; the second grant payment for the period 2021/22 will be paid in October on receipt of examined annual accounts.

# 5. Appointment of Office Bearers

Role	Proposer	Seconder
Chairperson- JOHN GOING	Shirley Firth	Anne Anderson
Vice Chairperson- no nominations		
Secretary- SHIRLEY FIRTH	John Going	Donna Coull
Treasurer- GLADYS MCKENZIE	Donna Coull	John Going
Planning Contact- Shirley Firth as part of secretary role		

The council has divided some of the work of the secretarial role. Shirley Firth is the correspondence secretary and planning contact; Anne Anderson undertakes duties as the minute secretary.

# 6. Constitutional Documents

Members were advised that the Community Council constitution should be signed and mailed to the Deputy Returning Officer as soon as possible at Deputy Returning Officer, Moray Council Headquarters, High Street, Elgin, IV30 1BX.

Members were advised to bring their copy of Constitutional documents to meetings for reference, particularly the Standing Orders.

The council agreed that they would read and consider the constitution. Reminded of the requirement to return a signed copy within two months.

# 7. Business from previous meetings

The inaugural meeting was closed and handed over to the new chair to start Community Council business.