Minute of Innaugural Meeting Dyke Landward Community Council

Date:Wednesday, 04 October 2017

Time:7.00 pm

Venue:Dyke & District Village Hall, Dyke

Chair: Jane Martin Community Council Liaison officer (CCLO)

Attendees: Steve Arkley, Jane Foster, Tom Lewis, Tanya McLaren, Carl Wright, Cllr

Mclean

Apologies: Cllr Creswell, Cllr Alexander, Cllr Feaver

1. Welcome, Introductions and Apologies

Jane Martin CCLO welcomed all to the meeting and congratulated members on being elected as Community Councillors to serve their communities.

2. Community Council Induction

JM (CCLO) gave a training/induction presentation to all members. This incorporated, Community Councils in Moray, Scheme and Constitutional documents, Community Councillors Handbook, Core Community Council Business, Members and Office Bearers duties, highlighting key areas that Community Councils and its members should be aware of.

All Members were given copies of the Scheme of Establishment, Model Constitution and the Code of Conduct. The Community Council were issued one hard copy of the handbook and informed that the handbook is available online at http://www.moray.gov.uk/moray_standard/page_105319.html, if members require printed copies, costs can be paid from the Community Council administration grant.

Members agreed that a generic email address should be used, SK will set this up and forward information to all members and the CCLO.

3. Contact Sharing Authorisation

JM (CCLO) asked all members to complete the Contact Sharing Authorisation form for Data Protection purposes, copies of the completed forms will be emailed to the secretary.

JM (CCLO) to share contact information with all members

4. Administration Grant and population figures

Jane Martin informed members that the annual grant for Dyke Landward Community Council is £573.88 for the period April 2017/18.

The grant is calculated at £500 plus 0.0725 pence per head of population, the population for the area is 1045.

The annual grant paid is distributed in two parts, April and October; the second grant payment for the period 2017/18 will be paid in October on receipt of examined annual accounts.

SK advised that the accounts will be sent by the end of October.

5. Appointment of Office Bearers

Chairperson: Steve Arkley Proposed: Tanya McLaren

Seconded: Tom Lewis

Vice Chairperson: Carl Wright Proposed: Steve Arkley

Seconded: Tanya McLaren

Secretary: Tanya McLaren Proposed: Tom Lewis

Seconded: Steve Arkley

Treasurer:Steve Arkley **Proposed:** Jane Foster

Seconded: Carl Wright

Planning Contact: Tanya McLaren Proposed: Steve Arkley

Seconded: Jane Foster

Planning list to be sent to generic and personal email

6. Constitutional Documents

JM suggested that the model constitution should be signed immediately to protect the Community Council; the Community Council can in the future apply for any changes that may be required to Moray Council.

The constitution was signed; JM (CCLO) will deliver to the Deputy Returning Officer, after checking the Constitutuon will be returned to the Community Council.

Members agreed that the Community Council will meet on the first Wednesday of every month except January and August, 7.30 pm at Dyke Village Hall.

JM (CCLO) advised members to bring their copy of Constitutional documents to meetings for reference, particularly the Standing Orders.

7. AOC

Clash Gour Wind farm, Community Ownership Workshop in Moray on the 24th November.

8. Business from previous meetings

Jane Martin closed the inaugural meeting and handed the meeting over to the new chair to start Community Council business.